11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2014 8:08 AM by dcox

change trace 90 degree to 45 degree

liont

Hi, now I'm new to PCB design. I just finished placing components on PADS layout and now learning routing.

How can I change trace degree from 90 to 45 degree?

Also, when I change trace width from 12 to 6, the wide line becomes a thin line like same as rat's nest. (when the line width is 12, the trace line is wide, but the trace with is either <12, it becomes very thin line.)

Is there any setting for that?

I hope someone can answer my question, thanks.

• 1. Re: change trace 90 degree to 45 degree
          vladimir.stoyanov

Hi,

Use modeless command AD (for 45 deg), AO (for 90 deg) and AA for any angle.

For traces - press Ctrl+Enter and go to General-->Minimum displat width. Set this value to 5 mils and everythink will be OK.

Regards,

• 2. Re: change trace 90 degree to 45 degree
            Sravan_Kumar

hi

for the first question you want to change the existing 90 traces to 45 degrees? or while routing you want to change the angle?

if you want to change the angle while routing you can change in tools>option>design>line/trace angle

and for the second question just type R0 so that you can see the traces with real width

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: change trace 90 degree to 45 degree
              jduquette

After you route a 90 degree corner you can convert it to a 45 degree corner with a miter.  Select the corner (both the vertical and horizontal traces will be highlighted) and then <right-click> and select 'Add miter'.

After you add the miter you can select just the miter and then press <Shift-S> to resize the miter.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              • 4. Re: change trace 90 degree to 45 degree
                liont

Thank you very much.

• 5. Re: change trace 90 degree to 45 degree
                  liont

thank youvery much.

• 6. Re: change trace 90 degree to 45 degree
                    liont