3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2013 4:30 AM by yan_killy

converting nevitive plane to something else?

ron.morgan

Hi all this is my first time here.. so be gentle..

I have a few years of PCB layout experience, many years in IC layout and 25 total years in electronics..

the PCB tool I used is from cadence so some of the words I may use may be wrong from the pads layout perspective. I have a larger 4 layer board that was laid out several years ago by another designer. I have to make some really large changes to it. most of it is stuff I understand.. but I have never liked negative panes. I understand there usefulness in many aplications and i know me saying that I don't like them might make me seem uncivilized .. so be it.. I don't like them. I like to see what I'm working on.. which brings me to my question.

in the cadence tool I could add dynamic planes( i don't know if the same term is used in pads layout but its the only one I know). some of the boards I worked on in the past would have several dynamic planes on the same layer. the board I am making changes to has 2 plane layers, and no split planes. so one whole plane = layer 2 and another whole plane = layer 3. but both of them are negative planes.. in the candece tool I can convert any plane to a dynamic plane. can i do that in pads? if not, can I delete the negative plane and add a dynamic plane in its place? this seems like it should be a simple thing to do in a property window or maybe even an attribute window.. but in not able to fine it.