6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2018 3:33 AM by agxinmj

DDR3 Batch Simulation

swapnil.chavan

Hello sir,

I am using Hyperlynx v8.2.1,

I am new to Hyperlynx and confused for DDR3 batch simulation.

I am trying to simulate Micron DDR3 with the controller. but i am confused to check for On-Die Termination value..

can u please guide me how to decide(on what parameters) the ODT value for the DDR3.

I read in the datasheet about the register MR1 decides the value of Rtt.

also read the help documentation from mentor,

but still confused, which value to consider to have a working simulation.

can someone please guide me for this..

thank you.

• 1. Re: DDR3 Batch Simulation
          swapnil.chavan

can any one help me please...??

• 2. Re: DDR3 Batch Simulation
            praveen_anmula

Hi Swapnil,

Since the ODT values are selected within the device, corresponding IBIS files contain all possible models. To use the ODT models, select appropriate model in "ODT Models" page in the Hyperlynx DDRx wizard.

To know which model is good in your case, refer to the data sheet. When I searched online, I found that Device data sheets list what ODT values to use in a tabular format (With respect to the number of slots and Ranks). Since you are using Micron models, below mentioned  document might be a good place to start (refer to pages #11 and #12):

http://www.micron.com/~/media/Documents/Products/Technical%20Note/DRAM%20Modules/tn4108_ddr3_design_guide.pdf

Regards,

Praveen Anmula

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: DDR3 Batch Simulation
              swapnil.chavan

Hello Praveen,

Thank you for replying..

Actually in datasheet and also in IBIS model file, the possible ODT values are given, but i am confused which one to use in my case..

I will definately check the attached document.

Thanks & Regards,

Swapnil

• 4. Re: DDR3 Batch Simulation
                Ed Bartlett

Hello Swapnil,