AnsweredAssumed Answered

How important is in-house expertise in regard to successful EDA implementation?

Question asked by michael.weinberg on Jul 26, 2013
Latest reply on Jul 30, 2013 by michael.weinberg

I've been a PCB Designer/ECAD Administrator/ECAD Librarian for over 30 years and I've never seen cells built as shown in the image.

This company required the placement outline to encompass the cell's pads as shown in the image.

Cell Placement Outline includes Pads.JPG

I see no benefit to creating cells this way, yet I do see significant drawbacks.

The ECAD system has separate DRC checks for physical items (i.e. placement outline-to-placement outline) and electrical items (pad-to-trace, trace-to-trace, etc.)

With the Placement Outline encompassing the pads, the electrical checks are trumped by the mechanical checks or vice versa depending on the actual design rules. This is an unnecessary limiting of the software's DRC capabilities.

For QFPs (Quad Flat Packs) the corner areas between groups of leads are unavailable for placing other devices unless DRC is disabled. There are false DRC error messages that are generated for devices placed in these otherwise acceptable locations.

Another drawback is with 3D rendering of the PCB when mechanical models are not yet available for mapping. In this case the placement outline is extruded in the +Z axis to the height specified in the cell (1.75mm in the example shown), which looks strange and unfamiliar.

I think this procedure was originally defined by an electrical engineer working as ECAD administrator, someone who had little or no PCB design experience.

This is why electrical engineers make lousy PCB designers or ECAD administrators. Yes, it involves electronics, and the electrical engineer is the only customer I need to satisfy in regard to the PCB layout, but It's a totally different discipline and methodology than electrical engineering.