5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2013 10:14 AM by knoppsson

Total newbie!

knoppsson

Hi!

I'm a total newbie at this.

I have three programs recently installed.

These are PADS Logic (where I've managed to draw a simple test schematic), PADS Layout (where I've managed to place the components in what I think is a double-sided PCB) and PADS Router (where I've managed to manually route some of the connections).

Everything works fine until I try autorouting or even manually routing some of the connections.

I understand that these connections cannot be routed "across" the other connections (i.e I get a clearance warning).

But how do I tell the router to use the other side?

And why does not the (auto)router understand this?

I obviously have some settings wrong.

But there are so many of them

Best regrads, Roger

PS

Where and how do I set the actual size of the PCB? I want to use EU-sizes only.

• 1. Re: Total newbie!
          terry_lovell

Hi Roger,

We welcome you to the Mentor Graphics Communities!

First I'd like to apologize for the delayed reply. Secondly, the Expedition support personnel that monitor this forum have very limited experience with PADS functionality, therefore you may want to re-post your questions to the PADS Layout and Routing forum (link below), where your questions will most likely be addressed much faster by one of the PADS experts. If there were a way to move your post I would have ablige, but unfortunately I don't have priviledges to perform this type of administration task.

http://communities.mentor.com/community/pcb/pads/layout_routing

Best Regards,

Terry

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Total newbie!
            cathy_terwedow

Hi Roger,

I'd like to welcome you to the PADS (and Mentor) community too. I can move your post so you won't have to type everything back in again. I hope you get a quick answer to your questions!

Best regards,

Cathy

1 of 1 people found this helpful