4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2014 7:46 AM by wolferm

Designing a PCB with thermal relief

harry-stone

We have a new PCB that has 10 layers. There are plenty of gnd and power planes. I have had to do some modifications to this board, including removing and replacing components. I have plenty of experience with soldering and I believe this is one of the hardest boards to work on. What I am asking is what techniques, tips, etc. I can use when designing a circuit board that would give thermal relief and not be as difficult if the need for hand soldering is needed.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Designing a PCB with thermal relief
          RLS2004

The notes below are from a web forum (Probably TomH at pcbl):

Total cumulative copper web for all layers in any plated through hole should not exceed 4.0 mm for 1 oz copper or 2.0 mm for 2 oz copper.

It means that if you have a 12 layer board and 4 GND planes, the accumulative spoke width on all 4 GND layers should not exceed 4 mm for 1 oz copper or 2mm for 2 oz copper. If you violate this rule you will get "Cold Solder Joints".

(Removing the part also gets difficult! Hope this helps).

RLS

• 2. Re: Designing a PCB with thermal relief
            sabitha.jamal

Hello

But if we are using the spokes on extreme bottom layers the solder results will be good 

Thanks and Regards

Sabitha

• 3. Re: Designing a PCB with thermal relief
              harry-stone

Can you explain the accumulative spoke width. Does this mean the total spoke width for each via cannot exceed 4mm for 1 oz and 2mm for 2 oz of copper.

I have a spoke width that is 0.381mm per spoke. Do you multiply that by four spokes, and if that number is below 4 mm for layers with 1 oz and under 2mm for 2oz you are designing within this thermal relief rule.

Thanks

HS

• 4. Re: Designing a PCB with thermal relief
                wolferm

I believe the answer "total acumulative on all layers" pretty much covers it.