8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2016 2:08 AM by Nuri

VeSys 2.0 Storing data centrally - NOT on the "C" drive

john.howes

I'm new to VeSys so forgive me if this is obvious, but I'm puzzled by the way data is organized in Vesys. It seems a strange design decision.

All our ECAD and MCAD libraries and projects are stored centrally. Is there any way to store VeSys data centrally, rather than in the install location, an obfuscated database?

I've read some threads about a tool called "Premigrate" but I can't find such a tool in the install folder.

Having to remember to output Xml every time I change a library item, or modify a project is pretty painful.

Cheers.

• 1. Re: VeSys 2.0 Storing data centrally - NOT on the "C" drive
          Nuri

Hi John,

Generally, the VeSys 2.0 database hosted on a server - with all the clients able to connect.   The VeSys 2.0 database supports concurrency for users, allowing many users to access the same database (work in the same projects, sharing the same library parts).  The only time XML is needed is when you upgrade between major versions (for example VeSys 2.0 v2014.1 to 2015.1), however there is a utility to perform the migration so you would not need to output XML files.  

Typical usage of VeSys 2.0 does not require, even with large teams, export/output of XML when making modifications.

Are you evaluating VeSys 2.0, would you be willing to talk?  If so then please contact your sales representative and ask for assistance,

Kind Regards,

Nuri

• 2. Re: VeSys 2.0 Storing data centrally - NOT on the "C" drive
            john.howes

Hi Nuri,

So " the VeSys 2.0 database hosted on a server"

I can't find any settings to change where the various VeSys files are stored.  The Install has placed everything on the C drive.

Most programs have a number of settings to control where various items are stored etc. but Vesys does not appear to have any options.