9 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2016 4:25 AM by kbak

PADS VX.1.1 Error **INPUT WARNINGS FOUND**

sa99

I'm new to creating a layout.  I am trying to forward my schematic to PCB but I'm getting an error.

The Process Indicator is all checked out.  There are no errors in the PCB.ERR file.

The errors are in the ascii.err report.

Can't find part Type item

*Part name not found

*Bad *CONNECTION* ascii data format, nets must contain more than one pin. Signal GND

ATTRIBUTE VALUES

Error:   Component J1 not found

Warning: deleting signal GND

**INPUT WARNINGS FOUND**

These errors are repeated for all components and signals.

The PADS Status shows:

Reading file -- ...
      Converter\Boost.asc
      -- version 2007.*
      **INPUT WARNINGS FOUND**
      ASCII import/export report file saved -- C:\PADS
      Projects\ascii.err

I checked my schematic.  All components attributes look good.  The schematic netlist came with no  errors.  What should I look at?

• 1. Re: PADS VX.1.1 Error **INPUT WARNINGS FOUND**
          kbak

Hi

It seems that PADS Layout cannot find the parttype for J1 that you are using in the schematic.

It may not exist in the libraries for PADS Layout. Maybe the part does not exist in the libraries available for the computer?

A missing part in layout can easily lead to '...nets must contain more than one pin...' error message.

regards

Klaus

• 2. Re: PADS VX.1.1 Error **INPUT WARNINGS FOUND**
            sa99

This error is not only for J1 but all my components, including the standard SMT 0805 packages.  Example:

Can't find part Type item < C0805C101J5GACTU >

C8 C0805C101J5GACTU@0805

I just verified my library in the Library Manager and I can see the common decals and parts.

• 3. Re: PADS VX.1.1 Error **INPUT WARNINGS FOUND**
              kbak

That's weird - unless PADS Logic and PADS Layout do NOT have access to the exact same libraries.