1 2 First Previous 16 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2016 3:12 AM by robert_davies

Alternate symbols in DxDesigner

jduquette

How does DxD handle alternate symbols, such as a vertical capacitor symbol and a horizontal capacitor symbol for the same capacitor part number? 

In PADS Logic I set up 'CAE Decal 1' and 'CAE Decal 2' under the Gates tab in the Part Editor.  Then I can hit <ctrl><tab> or <right-click><alternate> to cycle through the decal choices.  Does DxD have something like that? 

Thanks,

John D

• 1. Re: Alternate symbols in DxDesigner
          jduquette

To ask this another way... Can I have multiple Symbols for one Device, such as Logic has for one Part-Type? 

• 2. Re: Alternate symbols in DxDesigner
            wolferm

This is not a complete answer as I am just getting into this myself too.

But looking at supplied libraries there are 4 capacitor symbols withing the one symbol for diff rotations.

they are cap.1, cap.2 cap.3 & cap.4 in the symbol preview they come up just like excel as tabs on bottom to pick which one you want to use.

When editing the symbol these tabs are on top.

Just not sure yet on details of copying etc to create the other symbols. Because when you look at the symbol in xDM Lib Tool

you only see "cap", yet each of these you see within the symbol cap, cap.1 cap.2 etc can be opened and saved separately so not

really there yet as to what is going on, need to do a little more reading and playing.

So yes there is the capability like Logic just how the details work, not there yet.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Alternate symbols in DxDesigner
              jduquette

Thanks.  I just stumbled across the .1, .2 suffix too.  The open question is where is the 'Part Type' info defined in DxD? 

• 4. Re: Alternate symbols in DxDesigner
                wolferm

I am still having no luck finding any more info on this.