1 2 First Previous 29 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2014 7:49 PM by dale.rebgetz

Star Points - Do you need them?

stephen.williams

How many people out in the world of Mentor users wish to use Star points?

That’s a via or point on the board that connect more that one net together eg GND_ANALOG1, GND, DIGRTN.

I have been asking for this for at least 15 years. Mentor last week said to me no one else requires such a thing.

With weight of demand we can get this developed. Leave a reply here maybe Mentor will take note.

Other tool suppliers can do it.

• 1. Re: Star Points - Do you need them?
          strangd

Most of us use a two pin tie point component. (Or more pins)  I use star topologies on boards and in systems.  Have for years.

There certainly has been many requests for this over the years but we have always settled for the tie point component.

Dwain

• 2. Re: Star Points - Do you need them?
            stephen.williams

I have also used this method in the past along with many others all are bodges and fudges. This method will generate DRC errors both within Expedition, and on the manufactures frontend tool after generating Gerber of ODB++. (We currently have a PCB that has over 2000 DRC errors using this method). Mentor suggestion is to either ignore the error or switch the error check off. Both of these suggestions are totally unacceptable. The system should be right by design. Not bodge and legit.

• 3. Re: Star Points - Do you need them?
              yu.yanfeng

In Allegro, User can assign a net_short atribute to a via or a pin where you can connect differet nets together, so user can short gndd and gnda on the one point.

In Expedition, User also can implement shorting the shorting but using  different methods such as conductive shape or a pseudo shorting componet.