6 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2010 8:41 PM by yishayz1

How to start from the basics??

yishayz1

I am a electronics technician with over 15 years experience.

Recently I was laid off and the job offers just don't knock on the door.

I was thinking to use the UI period to learn PCB layout and design. I think PADS would be a good starting point. (?!?!)

From what I found so far, Mentors training classes are for people with previous experience.

So, how one like me, without any previous experience start from the basics???

Thanks,

Yishay

• 1. Re: How to start from the basics??
          john3

To learn the basis; there is a book called "comoplete PCB design using Orcad capture and PCB editor"

do a google search and you will find it.

I use PADS Layout tools but this book will get you going.

It will have you laying out a board in the first 30 minutes of reading the book.

I gave this book to a friend, and he was up and running.

If you plan to use PADS tools - stay away from DxDesginer to start with. Use their "Logic" schematic capture program.

It is a lot like OrCAD; easy to use.

DxDesigner is not straight forward (mostly in the setup).

I haven't tried it in the last year; so maybe they have this fixed (easy setup and install).

I used the older DxDesigner2005 (and loved it) and when they switched to DxDesigner2007; I had problems, so I went back to DX2005 and OrCAD

Also go to the Analog Devices web site and go into the Sharc DSP area.

They have a lot of Ref Designs that will give you something to play with (PADS format).

Intel also has some great Ref Designs, but you will have to register and get access.

if you find any other web site with good ref designs - let me know.

I try to let other people know about them.

Good luck.

• 2. Re: How to start from the basics??
            yishayz1

Thank you John for your thorough answer. It seems to me that PADS is a whole program with easy

interaction to other related programs.