1 2 First Previous 15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2010 7:14 AM by radike_d

Calibre LVS PEX Warnings and Erros

radike_d

Hi,
      I am new to IC design using Cadance. I finished my layout and now trying to run LVS and PEX using Cadance. To run Calibre LVS, I first exported the schematic netlist from Export -> CDL_OUT option.

Then I included this file as my source netlist in the LVS setup.

When I run LVS I am getting the following Warnings.

WARNING: There is no data for layout net name __USER_DEFINED_LVS_POWER_NAME__

WARNING: There is no data for layout net name __USER_DEFINED_LVS_GROUND_NAME__

WARNING: Invalid PATHCHK request "GROUND && ! POWER" : no POWER nets present, operation aborted

WARNING: Invalid PATHCHK request "POWER && ! GROUND" : no POWER nets present, operation aborted

WARNING: Invalid PATHCHK request "! POWER && GROUND" : no POWER nets present, operation aborted

Is it possible to know how to clear these warnings?

Also, now when I run the PEX simulation I get the following errors

ERROR: There is no usable returns path nets in the PDB for inductance extraction.

ERROR: Net information could not be built.

ERROR: The inputs for inductance engine were not properly built.

I also get the warnings same as warnings in LVS. The above errors are related to parasitic Inductor extraction. I am not sue whether it because of the warning in LVS. 

Can somebody help me regarding this?

Thanks a lot!!!

• 1. Re: Calibre LVS PEX Warnings and Erros
          samantha_lizak

Hi-

I can't help much with the LVS issue -- I'm hoping Chris Balcolm or someone knowledgable about Cadence/Calibre integration steps in -- but I do know that you can't run PEX until you have a clean LVS.  Parasitic extraction uses the connectivity information that LVS generates.

-Sam.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Calibre LVS PEX Warnings and Erros
            radike_d

Hi,