1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 12, 2011 12:01 PM by samantha_lizak

GDSII Stream out error when doing Parasitic Extraction (xRC)

fazul

Hi everybody

I am using  Calibre 2009.1_26.20 Interface on Cadence IC6.1.5isr2 to run my Parasitic Extraction .

When i  do my  Parasitic Extraction using  xRC , i select layout format 'GDSII' and check 'Export from layout viewer'. ( Create a Calibreview) 

At the time of streaming out the GDSII data, the file created does not contain layout information and the initial LVS returns a NOT COMPARED error . As  a result my LPE stops.

When the same layout is streamed out from CIW in cadence and is referenced in  xRC for LPE, everything works fine.

Actually this error happens only occasionally, (on some cases i have been able to run properly), which makes it even more difficult to understand why its happening.

I am very new to Back End Verification, I have only run these tools very limited number of times,  so chances are high  that i might be doing some silly mistake . 

any help is much appreciated .

Thanks!!

Fazul

• 1. Re: GDSII Stream out error when doing Parasitic Extraction (xRC)
          samantha_lizak

Hi Fazul-

I don't do much work with Calibre/Cadence integration, but I can point you to where I'm looking for information: Appendix A of the Calibre Interactive User's Manual. I don't see the term "Cadence IC" in it, so I am guessing you are using Encounter.

The first thing I would suggest is checking the transcript.  If I recall correctly, Calibre Interactive has it in its own pane -- you get there by clicking a button that is in the column on the left. Errors and warnings are also printed to their own area in the pane, but it isn't perfect; may also want to eyeball the log.