11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2011 2:22 PM by Steve_McKinney

Need help understanding Hyperlinx Error

johnr1

I'm fairly new to using Hyperlinx. I loaded a layout into the tool, set up the power supplies and stimulus but when I try to run the scope, it reports "Error creating simulation model; failed calulating T-line properties. Bad segment; Layer="Bottom" with=0.10 mils. X1=Error, Y1=Error, X2=0.00001 in Y2=Error. Not Wide Enough!

I've checked the board a million times for unroutes, skinny traces and cannot find anything. I've tried every tool I can think of. It sounds like the scope thinks there is a trace that is too small but how can I find it or figure out what this cryptic message means?

Please help!

• 1. Re: Need help understanding Hyperlinx Error
          Steve_McKinney

Hi John,

Probably best to enter a service request for this....Some one will likely need to look at the design and I don't think you want to post it here on the Community site.  One suggestion to get you going would be to export the net to LineSim.  You can do this from the Export > Net to > Free-Form Schematic.  You can try to simulate it here and if you get the same error, you could delete this odd transmission line from the topology (btw, I've never seen this happen before!) and try again. 

-Steve

• 2. Re: Need help understanding Hyperlinx Error
            yu.yanfeng

You are right. indeed this proble is caused by tiny traces. You can use ascii editor to open .hye file and search string "W=0.0001 L=Bottom", check every trace location  and modify it to >=0.001. Extreme ratio of Width/Hight or Width/copper Thickness isn't supported by any field solver. That's why Hyperlynx reports error.

Yanfeng

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Need help understanding Hyperlinx Error
              johnr1

Mr. Yanfeng,

I looked into the .hyp file and unfortunately there is no text string that matches 0.0001.

• 4. Re: Need help understanding Hyperlinx Error