5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2012 7:46 AM by markl

Layout: Adding a component using the ECO toolbar

dmeeks

I am a noob to Pads, but experienced with Orcad and PCad.

In Layout, if I want to manually add a footprint, it looks like I must use "add component" on the ECO Toolbar. Is that right?

When I do that, and I point to one of my libraries (a library that I created, which contains ONLY footprints), no components show up. Am I to assume that the library must have a part definition in it? Even though I only want to place the footprint? that doesn't make sense to me, what am I missing?

If that is the case, is there some way to add a footprint to a layout manually, from a library that contains ONLY footprints?

Thanks in advance!

Dan

• 1. Re: Layout: Adding a component using the ECO toolbar
          paceto

Yes, you can add a footprint to a design that way. You will also have to do an Add Connection for each net you need to connect to the rest of the circuit. I strongly recommend that you do not do this. The schematic and layout will now be out of sync. Any new changes to the schematic will wipe out the part/nets that you added manually to the layout. If you need a new component in the design, just add it in the schematic and bring the new part/nets into layout using Compare/ECO and Import ECO.

• 2. Re: Layout: Adding a component using the ECO toolbar
            jduquette

I agree with the other reply.  PADS is set up to flow from the schematic to the layout.

You are correct that you need to add a component; you cannot just add a decal from the library.  So to add a decal, it must be defined in a component first.