12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2012 1:26 PM by jmatthews

Mentor PADS-related job opening

colin_tunnoch

Do you know a PADS Layout Designer looking for work?

There is an opening for a Technical Writer to work on documenting the PADS software.

Our ideal candidate is someone with PADS specific PCB layout experience who would be interested in writing software documentation.

See Mentor's Career posting for more information.

http://tbe.taleo.net/NA8/ats/careers/requisition.jsp?org=MENTOR&cws=1&rid=657

Thanks,

Colin

• 1. Re: Mentor PADS-related job opening
          jmatthews

All well and good, but they want someone with an EE. Seems you can't see a PCB-Layout-related job anyiore without that stupid EE requirement.

I (and I'm sure there are many others) have tons of experience, but don't have that piece of paper, which makes me not qualified to do what I've been doing for over 25 years.

And I apologize for this. It's just frustrating as h*** and I needed to vent.

• 2. Re: Mentor PADS-related job opening
            tomf

jmathews,

Funny thing is PCB design is an engineering support position and, while the knowledge level is substantial, it is nothing compared to a qualified EE.  Just my opinion, but why would an EE waste his education doing something I can do with my simple AET degree and for a lot less money than what a practicing EE can earn?  I guess it just goes to show you 50% of all EE's graduated in the bottom half of their class....

I have a feeling I am going to be crucified for this post.

• 3. Re: Mentor PADS-related job opening
              DenisL