5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2012 1:09 PM by chris_balcom

auto metal fill

wang.cupid

Hi folks,

I am working on a 28nm project, which requires auto metal fill for our chip. After googling, I know that Calibre is able to do auto metal fill. But I have not found any commands or scirpts concerning how to do this. Can you give me a hint or any comments about using Calibre. Plus, Calibre SmartFill can do this as well, but we have no such product.

Thanks a lot.

• 1. Re: auto metal fill
          chris_balcom

Hi Wang,

I'm not an expert with fill related issues but I did find some information that you may find helpful. I'd like to know if it helps or not, please let me know:

http://supportnet.mentor.com/docs/201204032/docs/htmldocs/mgchelp.htm#context=calbr_cmpanalyzer_user&tab=0&tag=10530&id=4

I was talking with someone else about your post and they found this link that I found every interesting. It doesn't describe how to invoke the tool but the historical background related to fill requirements and mention of 28nm was very interesting to me:

http://www.eetimes.com/design/eda-design/4237906/Density-Requirements-at-28-nm

This trend in fill placement made more designers want to check the impact of the fill on the performance of their designs, and by around 65 nm, it became common for design teams to take control of the fill process themselves, using fill rule decks provided by the foundry. Although this shift in responsibility continued down to 45 nm, density was still a chip-level issue, to be solved at chip assembly or tape-out.

The problem for the designer is that, with more and more constraints being applied to protect circuitry and ensure manufacturability, the steps that can be taken to achieve the desired density average are more limited. But that still doesn’t explain why, at 28 nm, fill now becomes the cell designer’s job.

• 2. Re: auto metal fill
            wang.cupid

Thank you, Chris.