2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2015 7:19 AM by dcox

Layout copper pour/copper/plane area/plane cut out/flood/hatch

vial1001

Hi,

I am new to PADS SOFTWARE.

I am designing a 4 layer PCB using PADS software.

I need to know about drafting toolbar of PADS layout.

what is the difference between copper pour/copper/plane area/plane cut out/flood/hatch???

I tried plane cutout which is nothing but islands of copper in pcb layers. Right?

what about copper. Is it the same or not???

Can anyone help me in understandVivek Alaparthiing this.

Regards

• 1. Re: Layout copper pour/copper/plane area/plane cut out/flood/hatch
          vial1001

I am keeping all the things together

•plane area is only on split/mixed planes and the outline only
          • copper and plane area are the same (plane area shows only outline whereas copper area shows the copper fill area)
          • copper pour is used to create solid power or ground planes for better noise performance. It also reduces the amount of copper to be etched if you are etching the board yourself.

• Flood is nothing but solid copper whereas hatch is thin copper
          • We can specify "keep out" areas where you do not want copper pour, negating the copper pour

Correct me if I am wrong

• 2. Re: Layout copper pour/copper/plane area/plane cut out/flood/hatch
            dcox