8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2016 5:45 AM by etib@rafael.co.il

Selecting an object in an area

etib@rafael.co.il

hi,

I am new in developing automation in pcb env. using c# .Net

As part of a MCAD-ECAD interface we are developing we need to give a solution for a solder mask placement in the layout.

We get the solder mask location from the IDF file, but since the mentor IDF's importer doesn't understand this section we handle in manually.

The object we get in the layout after import of the IDF is a route obstruct and we are changing it to solder mask area using automation using "PutFabricationLayerGfx " function.

I have difficulties finding that route obstruct object using the coordinates I have from the IDF file.

I need to find a way to select an object according to specific parameters: coordinates, type(RouteObstruct,Draw Object etc.) and layer.

I can loop on all route obstruct object on a specific layer and find that object (by compering all coordinates), but I'm trying to find a function that let me query for a specif object according to the above parameters.

I would appreciate any help in that matter.

Thanks

Ester

• 1. Re: Selecting an object in an area
          Patrick.Cashman

The Pick function is what you are looking for.  It can find anything inside or touching a box specified by coordinates.  Its functionality is basically "Is there any object of this kind in this area?"

Here is an example with most of what you will need.  Vb.net, so you will need to do the conversion to C#:  (in this case you need to feed the function a PCB component object, but you could just as easily feed it the coordinates you want for minx, miny, maxx, maxy.)

Public Function pick_route_obstructs(comp As MGCPCB.Component) As Boolean

Dim ok As Boolean

Dim minx, miny, maxx, maxy As Double

Dim po As MGCPCB.PlacementOutline

Dim pos As MGCPCB.PlacementOutlines

Dim ext As MGCPCB.Extrema

Dim robstructs As Object    'note you must use the object data type here