8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2017 1:08 PM by daniel.labarowski

Manual Via Placement?

daniel.labarowski

My company uses PADS Layout to prep all of our PCBs to send to a board house. Generally, these are full PCB designs with accompanying schematics, decals for every part, etc. My group uses a software called AWR (now NI) Microwave Office for RF designs. We can generate DXF files from AWR that can be imported in PADS with a bit of effort. That part goes smoothly enough, but the vias just come in as copper circles. I's there a way to manually place vias in PADS Layout so that I can go back over the missing vias using the copper circles as a placeholder? I realize this violates the typical flow from schematic -> layout. In this case, the boards are very simple engineering test beds, I just need to run them through CAM. I'm a newbie to PADS layout, and I can't find an option to manually place a via arbitrarily in the menus  or help documents. Does anyone know how I might go about this? Thanks ahead of time!

• 1. Re: Manual Via Placement?
          kbak

1) Select a net.

2) Right click and select 'Add via'.

It is also possible to add a via shield when a net or Pin-pair is selected.

It is also possible to add a via shield when selecting a flooded copper area.

regards

Klaus

• 2. Re: Manual Via Placement?
            daniel.labarowski

Thanks for the feedback Klaus. The complication here is that
            these are just copper geometries as imported from the DXF. There are no nets.
            The vias as generated in AWR are just copper circles on their own layer
            (and I assigned the layer at DXF import). I thought that maybe I could
            select one of these circles, RMB, add net, and then do the process you
            described. That didn't seem to work either. I thought maybe it was because the
            vias were on their own layer, so I drew a copper pad on the top layer and followed