8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2011 1:11 PM by m.soucek

Noob question

jbaron

Hi,

Im new to the Automation world. I have a simple task to acheive and I want to confirm that it is possible.

I just want to extract all footprint from a design in DxDesigner. For each footprint, in need all pin information, include the position of the center of the pin.

Is it something that can easily be done with Automation?

Thanks and regards,

Jerome

• 1. Re: Noob question
          andrew.french

I'm not really sure if you can get footprint information from DxDesigner. The Automation model does have info on PDBPartitions so you might be able to get the info from there.  However the easiest and most straight forward way to get footprint info would be to use the Expedition data model, there you can definitely get all the info you are looking for.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Noob question
            jbaron

Thanks for the answer. I have looked at the Automation Model and all the information I need seems to be there. It's a huge model!

One more question, I need to extract the data from Expedition to my application, coded in C++. I know I can use C++ directly to get the information, but for some reason, we want to use VBScript. So, my application will call an external script.

I was wondering if someone has an idea of how could I exchange the information between my application and the script itself. Should the script create a file with the data requested ? Do you see something better?

• 3. Re: Noob question
              andrew.french